Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



SHELL ELECTRIC MFG. (HOLDINGS) COMPANY LIMITED 蜆 売 電 器 工 業 (集 團) 有 限 公 司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

(Stock code: 00081)

FINAL DIVIDEND FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31ST DECEMBER, 2008 CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF MEMBERS

The board of directors (the "Board") of Shell Electric Mfg. (Holdings) Company Limited (the "Company") has today resolved to recommend a final dividend of HK\$0.03 per share for the year ended 31st December, 2008. This proposed final dividend, subject to approval by the shareholders of the Company (the "Shareholders") at the annual general meeting to be held on Wednesday, 3rd June, 2009 (the "AGM"), will be payable on Wednesday, 10th June, 2009 to the Shareholders on the Register of Members of the Company on Wednesday, 3rd June, 2009.

The Register of Members will be closed from Monday, 1st June, 2009 to Wednesday, 3rd June, 2009, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of the Company's shares will be effected. In order to qualify for the proposed final dividend and to determine the identity of the Shareholders who are entitled to attend and vote at the AGM, all share certificates with the duly completed transfer forms must be lodged with the Company's Registrars, Tricor Standard Limited, at 26/F., Tesbury Centre, 28 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong not later than 4:00 p.m. on Friday, 29th May, 2009.

This announcement is also available for viewing on the designated website of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited at www.hkexnews.hk and on the website of the Company at www.smc.com.hk.

By order of the Board
Billy K Yung
Group Chairman and Chief Executive

Hong Kong, 22nd April, 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises eight Directors, of which four are executive Directors, namely Mr. Billy K YUNG, Madam YUNG HO Wun Ching, Mr. LEUNG Chun Wah and Mr. Eddie HURIP; one non-executive Director being Mr. Simon YUNG Kwok Choi and three independent non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Peter WONG Chung On, Mr. Peter LAM and Mr. Lawrence LEUNG Man Chiu.